Jane Austen’s most Memorable Quotes about Love and Romance

Here are some of the most profound, funny, and truthful quotes about love from the great Jane Austen.

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

Pride and Prejudice

“I hate to hear you talk about all women as if they were fine ladies instead of rational creatures. None of us want to be in calm waters all our lives.”

― Mrs. Croft, Persuasion

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”

― Mr. Darcy, Pride And Prejudice

“You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope…I have loved none but you.”

― Captain Wentworth, Persuasion

“Friendship is certainly the finest balm for the pangs of disappointed love.”

Northanger Abbey

“We are all fools in love.”

― Charlotte Lucas, Pride and Prejudice 2005

“It is not time or opportunity that is to determine intimacy;–it is disposition alone. Seven years would be insufficient to make some people acquainted with each other, and seven days are more than enough for others.”

― Marianne Dashwood, Sense and Sensibility

“If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more.”

― Mr. Knightley, Emma

“Could there be finer symptoms? Is not general incivility the very essence of love?”

― Elizabeth Bennet, Pride and Prejudice

“A lady’s imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony in a moment.”

― Mr. Darcy, Pride and Prejudice

“To be fond of dancing was a certain step towards falling in love.”

Pride and Prejudice

“If I could but know his heart, everything would become easy.”

― Marianne Dashwood, Sense and Sensibility

For plenty more romance, check out www.readiva.com.

Leave a comment